Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Early Learning Centre.

HappyLand HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot

Fantastic lights and sounds robot, full of fun features. Includes 2 mini robots, 1 space jet, 1 dog and 1 space mechanic.
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
16 of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
Review 1 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
March 22, 2011
Excellent
Anonymous
(Cleveland)
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 1
" Love this robot, not quite worth the full price though. "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 2 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
January 7, 2011
Great toy for 1-2 year olds
Lisa5
(Caterham, Surrey)
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 1
" My son was given this for his second birthday and has played with it a fair bit (over time though has loss interest). A great toy for basic play -it lights up and a spaceman falls through into the body - but it doesn't do much else, so if your child isn't good at role-play they might get a little fed-up. "
Fun:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 3 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
January 6, 2011
Not as expected!
lotnzakmum
(Farnborough, Hampshire)
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 1
" How disappointing. I really don't like this product. I bought it for my son when he was 18 months and he tried to play with it a couple of times and gave up! He couldn't manage the button to push the robots through the head into the tummy. He couldn't turn the head himself and needed an adult to do it. The blue hat comes off and is supposed to be a car but he just thought it was broken. When you read the reviews this product sounds great but whilst it is aimed at younger children, the gimics, i.e. head turning and hole in the head need older hands. I think you either love it or hate it! "
Fun:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 4 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 4, 2011
Cool
VickyJo
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 1
" I got this for my 1yr old son for Christmas. He loves it as does his sister. Nice and sturdy. I bought the extra robots so they could play together, "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 5 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 31, 2010
What a great toy!
mumsy1984
(essex)
Number of Girls: 2
Number of Boys: 3
" I bought this for my 13 month old son, Although he is not at the point of interacting with the characters, he absolutly loves posting things through the robots head and setting off the noises. My son loves opening and closing doors and cupboards and the fact that he is allowed to do this he is very pleased. This toy manages to keep my sons attention for a long time. "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 6 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
December 27, 2010
What does this do???
Lucy8554
(Sunderland)
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 1
" We got this for our 22 month old son for Christmas and I can only describe it as being a disappointment. It doesn't seem to do anything! Having got some of the other HappyLand collection this seems to lack the 'playability' of some of the other things. Our son has barely looked at it, preferring to play with the robots that came with it. In fact if this hadn't been reduced when I bought it I would have returned this. Compared to the train set, which is of a similar price, this is a huge let down. I can't help but think that the space range of HappyLand is a good idea, poorly executed as we also found the Rocket to be hugely disappointing. "
Fun:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 16, 2010
Hours of Fun!
Aidensmummy
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 1
" my son got this for his first birthday and has loved it ever since! fantastic toy with great robot sounds. the only toy my son owns that doesn't sing the alphabet - which is a good thing! lots of put & take play with the characters and i swear this toy has developed my sons imagination. he is now 18 months old and enjoys pretending to fly the spaceman around the room in the robots spaceship hat. Aiden will be getting the martian moon house and rocket amongst other happyland toys for christmas. fabulous toy - well done elc! "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 8 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 3, 2010
loads of fun
dobbo79
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 1
" my son absolutely loves this robot, he had it for his first birthday but was a little young for it then, but the last few months he has been mad about it. he has hours of fun sliding the dog down and playing with the characters. i have to admit I rather love it too along with the entire happyland range. highly reccommended "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 9 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
September 25, 2010
valleylass
(aberdare)
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 1
" we bought retro robot to go along with the lift off rocket, moon base and ufo toys, and hes been a wonderful addition. both my kids love playing with him, especially my 2 year old daughter, who laughs hiserically when his head is turned and his eyes roll and he makes a noise. "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
August 23, 2010
twinnies
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 2
" We bought this for christmas and were very disappointed. I thought it should do more than make and few noises and flash lights. However my boys do like putting the pieces in the robots head and watching them go into the tummy but after a few goes get bored of it "
Fun:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 18, 2010
We love retro robot!
Mumto5
(Suffolk)
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 4
" We picked up retro robot to go along with our 4 year olds lunar lander, the space base, the ufo and the alien tub... and hes been a fab addition! We love that his hat comes off and is a car, and we love that there are lots of cool friends inside his tummy!
He gives our children the chance to use their imaginations freely, which we always encourage, and if their imaginations take them in a rough and tumble direction, retro is always up for that. He's pretty robust, and he's easy to clean too. "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
February 26, 2010
Great toy!
mumandisaac
(Plymouth)
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 2
" My son plays for ages with this, he loves the little dog that comes with it. the fact that the space ship comes off and can be played with seperatley is great too! "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
January 31, 2010
What a shame
vixj
(Essex)
Number of Boys: 1
" I was very disappointed with this product as I felt that it should do more than it does. Just flashing a few lights and playing a little tune is not enough for the cost of the product. I agree with tomsmom - it should walk &/or talk. However, my 2 year old loves playing with it although he gets bored with it quickly. "
Fun:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 14 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
January 18, 2010
Not worth the money
Trace
(Northern Ireland)
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 1
" I bought this for my 22 month old son for Christmas and what a waste of money. It is definitely not worth £35. We got it on offer and to be honest I still don't think it was worth it. Doesn't really do anything fantastic. I read everyone else's reviews and thought they were great, hence the purchase but that was a mistake!!! "
Fun:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 15 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
January 16, 2010
Not sure what the fuss is about!
france
(South Yorkshire)
Number of Girls: 2
Number of Boys: 2
" This was advertised as the Star Buy I am very disappointed, the arms dont move as the one in the short video, the space mechanic definately doesnt fall into the robots tummy but gets stuck and you have to push him down! Hardly good fun at all.The little people are the best thing about it. I might even take it back its that bad!
Not one of the best ELC toys bought.Sorry!
"
Fun:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 13, 2010
Great toy, great fun..
Rubyberry
(Bromley)
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 2
" This is a great toy, my 1 year old and 3 year old boys both love playing with it. Even though it is very simple, no flashing gadgets or sound effects, it is keeps them entertained for hours. "
Review 17 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 27, 2009
good for girl or boy
bethani
(peterborough)
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 2
" I got this for my daughter for christmas she is 19 months and never plays with any toys but she loves this she likes putting the people in the top and then sending them down into the robot and she loves the flashing lights the robot makes a noise but it not to loud "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 18 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 26, 2009
Great fun!
RaceC
Number of Girls: 0
Number of Boys: 1
" Bought his for my 20 month old son for Christmas, it is definitely a hit. He has played with this more than any of his other gifts and I think he will do so for a long time. It seems to be very well made and no bits falling off yet! "
Review 19 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 13, 2009
Great
katieml
(birmingham)
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 1
" We have bought this for our two kids as a joint present. As it was only twenty pounds we thought it was a bargain. We have already taken it out of the box to have a look and it looks fab. My husband enjoyed playing with it and I feel there will be hours of enjoyment from it at Christmas "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 20 for HappyLand Lights & Sounds Retro Robot
:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 8, 2009
GREAT
DAZSTEFFI2KIDS
(RCT)
Number of Girls: 1
Number of Boys: 1
" MY BOY IS 3 1/2 I BOUGHT IT FOR CHRISTMAS THIS YEAR AS HE LEPT ASKING FOR IT, IM SURE HE'LL LOVE IT AS HE LOVES ALL THE OTHER ELC TOYS HE GOT. EVEN BOUGHT THE EXCHANGE SET TO GO WITH IT, AND IT WOULD BE IDEAL TO INTERGRADE IT WITH THE LIFT OF ROCKET SET AS THE FIGURES ARE QUITE SIMILAR, ALL OF WHICH I LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING HIM OPEN CHRISTMAS MORNING "
Fun:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.